Dream job search

The last week has been a rollercoaster. I’m still busy moving and I’m trying to participate in a huge project called ‘Dream job journey’ (DroomBaanReis in Dutch). It’s about the search for your dream job. The journey will last for 20 days and contains several activities, such as meetings, tests, assignments and a lot of thinking.

I had, and still have, some delay. But I made it to a meeting organised in my town last monday. It was so strange but funny as well. We were with 5 people and nobody knew each other, we only had contact through the project and saw each other for the first time in real life. Till then we only had spoken via Facebook.

Every time I meet people for the first time, and especially people who are trying to form and achieve a (dream) job, I’m astonished by the energy and kindness. We were all in the same place. Looking for a job were we can use all our talents and not only a small percentage, which is very hard nowadays.

Even though I found a job, I’m still active thinking about what the perfect job would be for me. It’s difficult to find this out on your own since getting feedback is an important step in this process. That’s why I entered a contest on Twitter. The price? A MBTI-report as result of a questionnaire about my personal preferences concerning work.

Thursday I received the results and I can tell that I have the ESFP type of personality 😀 In short, ESFP stands for: Outgoing, friendly, and accepting. Exuberant lovers of life, people, and material comforts. Enjoy working with others to make things happen. Bring common sense and a realistic approach to their work, and make work fun. Flexible and spontaneous, adapt readily to new people and environments. Learn best by trying a new skill with other people.

I hope this report and the dream job journey will bring me a little closer to my dream job. At least it’s a lot of fun and I’m getting to know new people, which is never a bad thing!

Leave a Reply

