Show Me How You Burlesque

Every time I mention the word ‘Burlesque’ I’m waiting for people’s reaction. Why? Because I’m shocked how very few women know Burlesque. Now that I think about it, it might be true that more men know what Burlesque is, or what it represents 😉 It may look sexy to guys, but it demands a lot of effort, time and practice!

Last Sunday I took a dance class Burlesque style. This time it involved a chair, also known as the Burlesque chair dance style. There are different props that you can dance with, such as a boa and a hand-held fan. I definitely prefer the chair!

When I hear dance teachers explain Burlesque, they always refer to the movie ‘Burlesque’ (2010) with Christina Aguilera and Cher. But my fascination with chair dance goes way back. I watched movie scenes, like the famous scene in ‘Flashdance’ (1983), over and over again. The more update material is music videos. Jennifer Lopez imitated the Flashdance-scene in her ‘I’m Glad’ video. But the most recent pop act that spreads the Burlesque awareness is the Pussycat Dolls. The Pussycat Dolls is a burlesque act of origin. Through the videos ‘Don’t Cha’ and ‘Buttons’ they show the chair dance style. Burlesque is gaining more attention and fame nowadays. Dita Von Teese is a well-known Burlesque performer.

I do understand the example of the movie ‘Burlesque’ because for the most people it shows and confirms the common image of Burlesque: feminine, sexy, seductive and confident. For me, the performance of the song ‘Express’ shows the ultimate Burlesque chair dance style!

Leave a Reply

