Train Girl spreading awareness

Last week I received an invitation of a friend to attend a dance performance in Rotterdam on thursday. I didn’t have to travel by train to Rotterdam because there’s another connection from Leidschendam. Later that day I did have to take the train to the location of the performance so I attached the Train Girl button to my handbag.

I arrived at the location and there was a possibility to drink and eat something. My friend, from who I got the invitation, had to volunteer at the entrance. He was busy so I had to entertain myself. I took a seat and was playing with my phone untill a man came sitting opposite to me and asked: “So you are Train Girl?” Crap…I didn’t remove the button from my bag!

But it was not as bad as I thought. I explained the idea behind the button and showed the Train Guy button as well. In the meantime a girl came and sat down next to me and she was interested too. They both were very enthousiastic about the concept! They immediately attached a button to their bag and wanted to join. The man, he was a bit older, made a picture of my bag with the Train Girl button and posted it on his Facebook! Yay, free publicity! 😀 So from now on I will attach the button wherever I go, the more people get exposed to it, the better.

The reactions I got that evening gave me an energy boost and the confidence to extend this project. Some people (might) think I’m crazy but let me tell you this:

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”
― Marilyn Monroe

Oh men, how I love quotes…here’s the last one! 😉

“Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes…the ones who see things differently – they’re not fond of rules…You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them, but the only thing you can’t do is ignore them because they can change things…they push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do.”                   ― Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

