Blaque (Ivory)

The news about the death of Natina Reed reached me last weekend. Natina Reed is known for being a member of the girl group Blaque aka ‘Blaque Ivory’. Blaque broke through in the Netherlands with the song ‘Bring It All To Me’.

It made me think about the group. I have bought their album ‘Blaque’ when I was a teenager back in the ‘90’s and I have the single ‘I Do’ as well. With my passion for music, dance and media I saw the girls everywhere! They had a role in the cheerleading movie ‘Bring It On’ and the song ‘As If’ can be found on the soundtrack. Blaque’s ‘I’m Good’ is part of the soundtrack of the movie ‘Honey’.

But the news also reminded me of Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes, part of the girl group TLC. She died, just as Natina, in an accident. Lisa signed Blaque to her production company. She also appeared in the music video for the singles ‘808’ and ‘I Do’, one of my favorite music videos back then…

Leave a Reply

