Making the public transport experience much more fun

I don’t know what it is but I seem to attract guys in their twenties on the train. I was traveling back from Amsterdam last night when two boys walked down the path after the stop at Schiphol Airport. One of them sat down facing me and the other one was hesitating where to sit, so I asked him if he wanted to sit next to me. I had a lot of luggage with me so I took a lot of space. The other guy had to laugh out loud because of my comment, with which I earned his respect he said 😀

So…again, just like on the now infamous 29th of June, the guy facing me asked about my luggage! I really need to change my bags 😉 I was thinking ‘Here we go again!’ We had a nice chat and talked about work, finding work and making the most of it. His friend was sort of asleep because they just worked for 12 hours at a Noodle Bar at Schiphol. We were making fun of him 😀

This conversation had a lot to do with finding work so I took the chance to tell the guy about the ‘Young & Driven’ group on LinkedIn. He found this a real good initiative! He was interested and yes…I don’t make the same mistake twice…I gave him my business card! And I asked his name so I know who is adding me on LinkedIn when he does 😀 He said that it was nice to meet me when we arrived at Leiden Central Station!

I can’t really explain what was different this time, but there was less pressure in some sort of weird way. Maybe the intention influenced my action and behavior. I can’t come up with another explanation. But I do remember that I didn’t want to be the one who is taking initiative all the time, at the time of my meeting in June. I deserve to sit back and relax from time to time, but then again…I do like the adventurous side of taking action!

Leave a Reply

