Comfort Zone

Listening to life coaches and inspirational people like Oprah makes you aware about the possibilities and opportunities life provides. It opens up your mind to new things and books, for instance by Dutch writer Ben Tiggelaar, show step by step how to take action and make personal development possible.

A lot of personal growth starts with expanding your comfort zone. When being in your comfort zone you know what to do, what to expect and it is safe because you’re familiar with everything within. To experience new things you have to push yourself and step out of your comfort zone. This will give you energy, confidence and in addition will cause more awareness about your behavior.

Right now I’m busy extending my comfort zone and I notice that others have their own opinion about it and don’t really understand why I am still putting so much effort into it. I want to let you know that the search has various reasons because it has a bigger meaning:                                                                                                                             • The meeting with the boy on the train was the right impulse at the right moment and the right place, creating a beautiful story for an experiment with (social) media.                         • I would really like to cause a small change by testing the willingness to help others. I’m asking for help, put my vulnerability out there, got to know new people and connected with them. I think in these difficult times it’s refreshing when someone, a complete stranger, takes some time and effort to talk to you. From now on I will also try to get connected more with people by taking initiative, just approach them and see what happens. Who knows how it ends up?                                                                                                       • You might think it is scary that I search that much for a person I ‘accidentally’ met. Maybe you can think about it differently, just turn it around…would you like it when someone is looking for you and is trying all these things in order to find you? I would be so flattered I can’t even describe it.                                                                                           • If the guy doesn’t want to be found, he only has to email me and I will stop 🙂 but I doubt that because he is one of the reasons I started this whole search. I loved his sharpness and wouldn’t do this if he didn’t start talking to me and ask me all these interesting questions. We have some mutual interests like music, singing, the beach, and we both are eager to learn. That’s why I would like to get to know him better. Is it a crime to have more friends? 😀 It reminds me of a quote by Joey Potter in ‘Dawson’s Creek’: “So when you meet someone for the first time, don’t judge them by their situation in life, because you never know, they may end up being your very best friend.”

Besides all this, I owe it to the people who have helped me to continue my search. They are curious how this will end so this is the least I can do! Spread the love! 😉

Leave a Reply

